Congress Results 2017

Another great weekend at the IBIS Styles hotel

We attracted 110 players and I hope everyone enjoyed the weekend

and we hope you will all return next year.

List of winners below click on the links for full results


First Place shared between Jonathon Blackburn and Stuart Clarke

Third Place shared between  Francis Rayner and Jonah Willow

Grading Prize Tim Hilton


First Place Robert Clegg

Second Place shared between Ifan Rathbone-Jones and Martyn Harris

Grading Prize Steve Lloyd


First Place shared between Chris Rhodes, Khalid Khokhar, Lukasz Holcman and David Buckell

Grading Prize shared between Samuel Parry and Brian Crompton


First  Sajjad Afifi-Dehghan

Second Place Colin Gardiner

Third  Place shared between Alan Kelly and Dennis Bonner

Grading Prize Nigel Gardner

Full results in all sections


The club’s star performers were Lukasz Holcman(playing his first ever congress) and Chris Rhodes who were involved in a 4-way tie for 1st prize in the Intermediate section (U135) despite being ranked 8th and 21st respectively at the outset. Both players finished with scores of 4/5 with Lukasz performance rating at 140 (compare to current grade 123) and Chris at 156 (compare to 111).

The other prize winner was Nigel Gardner also making his congress debut, ignoring childhood events from some time ago. He collected the grading prize in the Minor Section scoring 3/5 with a rating performance of 99 compared to current grade of 70.

Other players with notable scores include Congress Administrator Neville Layhe with a creditable 50% and a performance of 156 vs current grade of 137 in the Major Section (U165). Doug Barnett scored 3/5 in the Intermediate section, with Richard Renegade and Dave Price scoring 2.5 in the same section. Junior Harry Gardiner was the lowest graded player in the whole congress, but should be proud of his score of 2/5 in his first ever senior congress with a performance rating 20 pts above his current grade and finishing in joint 18th position out of 28.

Many thanks should go to the Congress Team of Neville Layhe, Les Hall and Dave Price together with Matthew Carr (I.A) as the Arbiter. We have received many delightful messages from  players including one from Alan Riddle playing in the Minor section which is shown below:

Hi Neville,

I’ve attended quite a number of congresses over the last few years but this is the first time I’ve felt motivated to contact the Organisers afterwards to congratulate  them on a successful event and thank them for providing it.

The congress was friendly and well-run (good teamwork?) and the venue was excellent – even the special snack menu was reasonably-priced.  Overall it is difficult to find anything to fault.

Something I specially liked was that the upper limit for the Minor was only 104. This must have boosted entries from lower-grade players like me.  It was a welcome change from events where the Minor goes up to 120, 130 or even 135.  At those events players graded under, say, 90, know that they are going to be hopelessly outgraded in least the first 2 rounds and the most they can ever look forward to is a grading prize.  Please don’t ever think of raising that limit above 104!

Thanks again – I hope to be back next year.

Best wishes,
Alan Riddle


                    Below some photos taken during the Congress


                 Playing room 1                                        Playing room 2


                   Playing room 3                         Mike Surtees and Mark Whitehead


                Jon Blackburn                                             Dick Martin


Brian Crompton                                                     Rich Wiltshir

Tim Soar and Paul Bamford